Apr 20, 2021  
2020-2022 Undergraduate Catalog 
2020-2022 Undergraduate Catalog

Department of Psychology

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Liberal Arts

Chairperson of Department: Jocelyn O. Turner-Musa

Professor: Jocelyn O. Turner-Musa

Associate Professors:  Terra Bowen-Reid, R. Trent Haines, Amber B. Hodges, Robert J. Smith, Kimberly Warren, Anita M. Wells

Assistant Professors: Ingrid K. Tulloch, Karen Watkins-Lewis

Lecturers:  Sherita Henry, Natasha Otto



The Department of Psychology is committed to educating the next generation of scholars in the psychological and behavioral sciences. We are dedicated to creating and fostering a diverse educational environment with a scientific and culturally sensitive approach to understanding human behavior and mental processes. The Department meets students’ academic needs by 1) providing a comprehensive and challenging curriculum that increases students’ knowledge and understanding of the field of psychology and of psychology as a science, through a curriculum that is evidence-based and empirical in approach; 2) offering hands- on opportunities, research and academic internships, service learning, and community service activities, to apply theoretical background obtained from courses in practical experiences; and 3) providing academic and career development opportunities that facilitate successful acceptance to and matriculation in graduate school or gainful employment into the workforce. Faculty, who have diverse backgrounds in social, clinical/ community, counseling, neuroscience, health.experimental.develop mental , educational, and personality psychology, endeavor to strengthen their individual teaching expertise through developing innovative and leading edge curriculum and foster their individual research enterprises through publications, research collaborations, intra- and extramural funds, and professional activities.

The Department offers a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) Degree in Psychology.





    Bachelor of ScienceMinor

    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Liberal Arts